Colorado Golf Hall of Fame to Induct Russ Miller

Russ Miller of the Broadmoor and Colorado Golf Hall of Fame
Russ Miller of the Broadmoor and Colorado Golf Hall of Fame (photograph by Mic Clik)

Miller, The Broadmoor’s PGA Director of Golf, earns enshrinement

After celebrating its 100th birthday by hosting the 2018 U.S. Senior Open, The Broadmoor has certainly started its second century with a bang. Earlier this year, the five-star, five-diamond Colorado Springs resort topped Golf magazine’s Top 100 Resorts for All-Around Excellence, and this month its PGA Director of Golf Russ Miller was voted into the Colorado Golf Hall of Fame.

Since arriving at The Broadmoor in 1998, the 56-year-old North Carolina native has been instrumental in bringing four USGA championships to The Broadmoor—the 2011 U.S. Women’s Open and the 2008, ’18 and ’25 U.S. Senior Opens. The 2025 event will be the ninth USGA championship contested at the resort, the first being the 1959 U.S. Amateur won by Jack Nicklaus.

John Elway and Russ Miller, 2018 U.S. Senior Open
Miller (left) with 2018 U.S. Senior Open Honorary Chairman John Elway.

In 2003, Miller also earned the national PGA of America award for Resort Merchandiser of the Year—a category in which the Colorado PGA Section has honored him in 2000, ’02, ’03 and ’12. At the annual Colorado PGA Awards Dinner November 1, he will also receive the organization’s highest honor, Golf Professional of the Year.

Miller has given back to the game through his seminal involvement in The First Tee of Pikes Peak and the PGA Professional Golf Management program at the University of Colorado-Colorado Springs. He also has mentored numerous future PGA golf professionals and supervised a thriving caddie program that has produced 14 Evans Scholars during his tenure.

Miller’s love of golf history inspired the creation of The Broadmoor Heritage Hallway—a glorious display of the club’s illustrious pedigree—and the resurrection of the annual Broadmoor Invitation golf tournament. He is the third PGA Professional from The Broadmoor, following Ed Dudley and Dow Finsterwald, to be inducted into the Colorado Golf Hall of Fame, an organization that named him its Person of the Year in 2004 and 2009.

Also Achieving Recognition…

University of Denver's Mary Weinstein.Golf Person of the Year: Mary Weinstein of Highlands Ranch swept the 2019 CGA Women’s Stroke Play Championships, becoming only the third player (Jennifer Kupcho and Kim Eaton are the others) to accomplish the feat in the same year. The University of Denver senior also captured the Summit League Championship.

Eleanore PelegriniLifetime Achievement Award: Eleanore Pellegrini has won two CGA Senior Women’s Stroke Play titles, six CGA Women’s Brassie Partner trophies and 37 club championships (20 at Wellshire Golf Course and 17 at The Pinery Country Club). A former vice president of the Colorado Women’s Golf Association, she assisted on its Course Rating and Handicap Committee.

Jerry WaltersDistinguished Service Award: Jerry Walters, who has hosted hosted the popular “In the Fairway” radio show for more than 25 years, will add this award to his two CGA Dave Nelson Media Awards, the 2003 and 2015 Colorado PGA Todd Phipers Media Award and 2015 Colorado Open Ralph Moore Golf Journalism Award.

Micah StangebyeFuture Famer Award (Boys ): Micah Stangebye of Montrose High School repeated as the Class 4A boys state high school champion. The senior carded a 9-under-par 133 at The Bridges to win by nine strokes and lead the Indians to their third consecutive state team championship. Earlier in the year, Stangebye also won the AJGA Preview at Fair Oaks Ranch near San Antonio.

Charlotte HillaryFuture Famer Award (Girls): Charlotte Hillary, a Kent Denver senior, won her third Junior Golf Alliance of Colorado (JGAC) Tour Championship this month at Cherry Hills Country Club. In September, the future Northwestern University freshman captured the AJGA Junior at Big Sky in Big Sky, Mont., and recently qualified with 2017 Future Famer Hailey Schalk for the U.S. Women’s Amateur Four-Ball. The Colorado Open Golf Foundation board recently named Hillary The First Tee Volunteer of the Year for raising $20,000 for The First Tee of Green Valley Ranch and $20,000 more for AJGA ACE Grants.

The 2020 Colorado Golf Hall of Fame Golf Tournament will take place May 26 at Colorado Golf Club, which will host the induction dinner at a date to be determined.

For more of the latest Colorado golf news, visit our NEWS & PROFILES PAGE.

Colorado AvidGolfer Magazine is the state’s leading resource for golf and the lifestyle that surrounds it. CAG publishes eight issues annually and proudly delivers daily content via

Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram.

Recent Posts


copy bug


Get our digital issue, in-depth Colorado golf news and exclusive deals & offers delivered straight to your inbox.

All we need is your email.