CU, CSU Men’s Golf Teams Head to NCAA Championship

The finals are May 26 to 31 in Arizona

2023 Colorado State University men’s golf team, which is the highest seeded Colorado Division 1 team in the NCAA regional tournament May 15 to 17.
(L to R): Head Coach Michael Wilson, Jay Pabin, Jordan Jennings, Rasmus Hjelm, Connor Jones, Davis Bryant, Christoph Bleier, Matthew Wilkinson, Assistant Coach Chris Babcock

The University of Colorado and Colorado State University men’s golf teams both qualified for the  NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships after regional tournaments this week.

The finals will be held May 26 to 31 at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz.

Colorado finished third in its regional competition, held this week at Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club in Norman, Okla. The top five teams advanced and only one stroke each separated the third through sixth placed teams.

The Buffaloes were led by Hunter Swanson, a freshman from Denver, who shot 210 over the three rounds to finish tied for 11th place.

Colorado State finished fifth in its regional competition, held at Auburn University Country Club. It is the third time the team has qualified for the NCAA championship, and first since 2011.

Sophomore Christoph Bleier, from Linz, Austria, earned co-medalist honors at the regional tournament and senior Connor Jones, from Westminster, finished in third place.

“I’m so happy for these guys. They work hard and care deeply. This was something they set out to do at the start of the year and today they achieved that,” said head coach Michael Wilson. “It’s a big moment for Christoph too. He’s been knocking on the door for a win the past couple of months and for him to get his first collegiate win this week and lead the team to the national championship is special.”

Finals play consists of three days of 54 holes of stroke play on Friday, May 26 thru Sunday, May 28, after which the top 15 teams and nine individuals not on an advancing team will be determined. That is followed by a final day of 18 holes of stroke play on Monday, May 29 to determine the top eight teams that will advance to match play as well as the 72-hole individual champion.

The team national champion will be determined by a match-play format that will consist of quarterfinals and semifinals conducted on Tuesday, May 30, followed by finals on Wednesday, May 31.

The 2022 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships were also held at Grayhawk Golf Club with Texas winning the team title, defeating Arizona State 3-2 in the final round of match play competition. Vanderbilt’s Gordon Sargent won the individual title in a playoff.

Source: and staff reports

Colorado AvidGolfer Magazine is the state’s leading resource for golf and the lifestyle that surrounds it, publishing eight issues annually and proudly delivering daily content via

Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram