That’s Pro – The Colorado PGA

THE COLORADO PGA SECTION recently honored its top professionals for 2020.

Included among the award winners were:


Players of the Year:

Geoff Keffer, Assistant Professional at Lakewood Country Club, won his sixth Dow Finsterwald Omega Player of the Year award; six was also the lucky number for Doug Rohrbaugh, Teaching Professional at The Snowmass Club, the Omega Senior Player of the Year; Sherry Andonian of Valley Country Club, won her third consecutive Women’s Player of the Year award; and Seth Zacks of The Club at Ravenna won his first Associate Player of the Year award.

Special Awards:

Golf Professional of the Year went to Ben Welsh of Frost Creek; Nick Clearwater of GOLFTEC was named the Teacher of the Year; his co-worker at GOLFTEC, founder and CEO Joe Assell, was the recipient of the Warren Smith Award; Mark Bacheldor of the University of Colorado, Colorado Springs PGA Golf Management Program was the winner of the Professional Development Award; Scott Erwin of Maroon Creek Golf Club won the Bill Strausbaugh Award; the newest inductee into the Colorado Golf Hall of Fame, Ed Oldham of Ed Oldham Golf and The Ranch Country Club, won the Player Development Award; Tom Young of the Black Canyon Golf Club at Montrose won the Youth Player Development Award; Ryan Bakken of Thorncreek Golf Course was named the Assistant PGA Golf Professional of the Year.

Merchandisers of the Year:

Matt Schalk of Colorado National Golf Club was named Public Merchandiser of the Year; Jeff Seltz of The Club at Rolling Hills was named Private Merchandiser of the Year. Also honored by the Section was Josh Miller of GOLFTEC, who won the Charles “Vic” Kline Award. Bob Longmire, the creator of the PGA Jr. League and Doubles Golf, won the President’s Award.

This article was also featured in the Winter issue of Colorado AvidGolfer.

Colorado AvidGolfer is the state’s leading resource for golf and the lifestyle that surrounds it, publishing eight issues annually and proudly delivering daily content via

Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.