Stellar 64 Gives CU’s Oraee Title in 78th CGA Stroke Play

LAKEWOOD — University of Colorado golfer David Oraee won the 78th Colorado Golf Association Stroke Play Championship on Sunday to become just the third player since 1990 to complete a career sweep of the CGA Match Play and Stroke Play tournaments.

Oraee, from Colorado National Golf Club, shot a bogey-free 6-under-par 64 Sunday at Lakewood Country Club, the lowest final round by a CGA Stroke Play champion back through at least the year 2000, before which records are not complete.  

The 21-year-old Greeley native won the CGA Match Play last year. He becomes the 20th player to claim both the CGA Match Play and Stroke Play titles, but only Pat Grady and Steve Ziegler have done so since 1990. Longtime PGA Tour players Hale Irwin, Steve Jones and Brandt Jobe are among those who accomplished the feat in earlier decades.

A senior-to-be at CU, Oraee finished with a 12-under-par 268 total at Lakewood CC. Colorado State University golfer Jimmy Makloski of Pueblo Country Club shared second place at 272 with Nick Nosewicz of Meadow Hills Golf Course. Makloski closed with a 66 despite bogeying his final two holes Sunday, while 54-hole leader Nosewicz carded a 69 Sunday to go sub-par in each round.

Steve Irwin, who was attempting to win the title at his home course of Lakewood CC, battled an uncooperative putter on Sunday en route to a 68. That left him in a tie for fourth place at 273 with former CSU golfer Parker Edens, who posted a final-round 65.

The low round of the tournament (63) was carded on Sunday by former Colorado Christian University golfer Minkyu Jeon, of Raccoon Creek Golf Course, who placed seventh at 276.

Makloski held the outright lead briefly on Sunday after getting up and down from a greenside bunker, sinking a 4-foot birdie putt on No. 12. But Oraee took control for good when he reeled off three straight birdies starting on No. 12. He 2-putted for the birdie on 12, pitched to 1 foot for his birdie on 13, and drained a 7-foot putt for complete the trifecta on No. 14.

CGA Stroke Play Championship
At Par-70 Lakewood CC

David Oraee, Colorado National GC, 68-68-68-64–268
Jimmy Makloski, Pueblo CC, 72-65-69-66–272
Nick Nosewicz, Meadow Hills GC, 67-69-67-69–272
Steven Irwin, Lakewood CC, 68-71-66-68–273
Parker Edens, Greeley CC, 69-69-70-65–273
Braden Baer, The Ranch CC, 68-69-69-69–275
Minkyu Jeon, Raccoon Creek GC, 65-76-72-63–276
Jon Lindstrom, Lakewood CC, 73-70-67-68–278
Cameron Harrell, Collindale GC, 70-69-74-66–279
Keith Humerickhouse, Glenwood Springs GC, 69-72-67-71–279
Adam Griffith, Thorncreek GC, 76-70-67-67–280
Grant Rogers, Omni Interlocken GC, 71-67-72-70–280
Tanner Jenson, Ridge at Castle Pines N., 70-68-72-71–281
Jonathan Marsico, Castle Pines GC, 69-72-71-69–281
Chris Korte, Lone Tree GC, 65-72-75-70–282
Jacob Allenback, Walking Stick GC, 66-75-71-70–282
Cole Cunningham, Valley CC, 74-70-68-71–283
Brendan Connolly, Ridge at Castle Pines N., 72-74-68-69–283
Dylan Mitchell, Lakewood CC, 73-73-70-67–283
Christopher Thayer, Bear Creek GC, 70-76-70-67–283
Alex Kephart, Eisenhower GC, 70-72-73-69–284
Steve Connell, Riverdale GC, 70-71-72-71–284
A.J. Morris, River Valley Ranch GC, 71-71-71-71–284
Eric Hallberg, Colorado GC, 71-64-78-72–285
Grant Dinkel, Flatirons GC, 75-71-68-71–285
Danny Riskam, Columbine CC, 70-74-69-73–286
Matt Porter, CommonGround GC, 73-72-70-71–286
Brian Dorfman, Cherry Creek CC, 70-72-70-75–287
Christopher Wilson, Eisenhower GC, 74-68-74-71–287
Cody Kent, CC at Castle Pines, 68-73-75-72–288
Colin Prater, Broadmoor GC, 70-73-72-73–288
Matt Robertson, Foothills GC, 75-71-73-70–289
Matthew Goddard, Ptarmigan CC, 69-77-71-73–290
Drew Vance, Raccoon Creek GC, 72-74-71-75–292
Kent Moore, Cherry Hills CC, 70-75-73-75–293
Zach Tripp, Foothills GC, 77-70-70-77–294
James Banyas, CommonGround GC, 70-77-72-75–294
Behrod Keshtavar, CJGA Club, 71-75-75-74–295
Ryan Schmitz, Colorado GC, 72-75-76-73–296
Michael McNulty, Fossil Trace GC, 72-73-78-73–296
Ryan Sturm, Buffalo Run GC, 73-74-82-73–302